Indy 500 program cover features artwork by Johnny Rutherford


Rutherford, winner of the 1974, 76 and 80 Indy 500s for Team McLaren (twice), then Chaparral, used a pencil to draw the only three drivers ahead of him in Indy’s winner list – four-time AJ Foyt winners , Al Unser and Rick Mears.

Rutherford designed the Bowes Seal Fast Trevis-Offy roadster that Foyt drove to his first Indy 500 victory 60 years ago, the Johnny Lightning Special Colt Unser in which he earned his second Indy victory 50 years ago, and the Marlboro Penske PC20 that Mears drove to his final Indy victory – and Indy’s penultimate car victory – 30 years ago.

“It’s an honor to be able to be a part of this project and to cover this program,” said Rutherford. “I just hope the fans enjoy it and everyone appreciates the fact that it was me, the three-time winner here, who drew this. Add that to what I’ve accomplished at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in my career, and it’s special.

The cover of the program was an artistic collaboration between Rutherford and IMS graphic designer Amiah Mims. After Rutherford provided the designs for the cars, Mims redesigned the illustrations of the 1980 Indy Car Champion to a digital format and incorporated them on a digitally created background that showcases the cars drawn by Rutherford, as well as the famous Yard of Bricks.

Mims is also a freelance artist who has been involved in Indianapolis area works such as Welcome Race Fans 2019, Black Lives Matter Boarded Window Mural Project, Black Lives Matter Street Mural Project, and Indianapolis Recorder Building Mural. , among other projects.

“Designing, illustrating and painting has always been my passion, and I’m proud to be able to use my love for art to help tell the story of the Indianapolis 500,” said Mims. “It is an honor to be one of the many artists to compete in the Indianapolis 500 and to work alongside a legend like Johnny Rutherford.

The 208-page souvenir program is now available for $ 15 at and at official IMS and Indianapolis Motor Speedway Museum gift shops.

It contains information on the results of the Race for Equality & Change after only 10 months, retired IMS historian Donald Davidson, Marco Andretti’s race for pole position last August, the Indy 500 2020 and the impact of his lack of fans by IMS President Doug Boles, 2020 Laureate (and 2017) Takuma Sato, 2020 Rookie of the Year Pato O’Ward, Rinus VeeKay and Alex Palou, the future of the ‘IMS Museum and a celebration of Indy 500 birthdays in 2021, including the 100th anniversary of Tommy Milton’s First Victory.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.